Peter Sellers I am not! But here goes anyway ….

Oh dear reader, I’m in trouble.
Well, goodness gracious me.
For I have been retained by a theatre near to me.
Mmm?
They’re putting on a play, it’s a fast and frantic farce.
It goes boom boody-boom boody-boom boody-boom,
Boody-boom boody-boom boody-boom-boom-boom.
Oh!
Boom boody-boom boody-boom boody-boom
Well, goodness gracious me.

Well the role I’ve been selected for, the job that I must do.
Is provide the sound effects and pick the tunes that I’ll play too.
The play it has a theme, for it is medically based.
And goes boom boody-boom boody-boom boody-boom,
Boody-boom boody-boom boody-boom-boom-boom.
Oh!
Boom boody-boom boody-boom boody-boom
Well, goodness gracious me.

So my question’s to the good folk who are reading of my plight
In a desperate bid to stem my fear and help me end this fright
I need your help to think up tunes, to fill the house with mirth
So they go boom boody-boom boody-boom boody-boom,
Boody-boom boody-boom boody-boom-boom-boom.
Oh!
Boom boody-boom boody-boom boody-boom
Well, goodness gracious me.

So I beg you now to list for me, and lift this manic curse,
Songs that take the mickey out of doctors and of course the nurse.
If you do for me this simple task you’ll fill my heart with joy.
It’ll go boom boody-boom boody-boom boody-boom,
Boody-boom boody-boom boody-boom-boom-boom.
Oh!
Boom boody-boom boody-boom boody-boom
Well, goodness gracious me.

In other words, how many comedy medical tunes, songs, TV themes can you think of? I have some already, I just need some more.

And if you’re still totally lost by the above, have a listen to this.

About Words of Little Relevance

Freelance stage manager; software and web tester; Excel and map geek; Tweeter; Blogger and Cake Eater. Often back-stage in and around Oxfordshire and Buckinghamshire where I move scenes, or play with lights or sound.
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Peter Sellers I am not! But here goes anyway ….

  1. rjmackin says:

    How about Harry Nilsson’s The Lime and the Coconut… vaguely doctor related…

  2. Paws says:

    So after a little thought I’ve found a few possibilities. You may already have considered any or all of these but here goes:
    Simply Red – Night Nurse
    Pink Floyd – Comfortably Numb
    Kirsty MacColl – I Wanna Be Sedated (this may be too hectic for your purposes)
    The first and third are covers, so other versions may be better/worse.

  3. Night Nurse, I believe, was Bob Marley, although that’s just from the annals of my memory.

    Another which, from Paws’ comment, may be too fast and perky is Dr Wannado by Caro Emerald:

    I just made an appointment for a special rendez-vous
    To see a man of miracles and all that he can do.
    I checked in at reception put my hat into my lap
    And when he walked in, dressed in black, I had a heart attack!

    My eyes went “ooh”
    My voice just cooed
    My mind let loose
    I’ll stay forever, it said to you.

    Doctor, I want you
    Ooh, Doctor Wannado
    I can’t get over you
    Doctor, do anything that you want to do…

Leave a Reply

