Carer’s leave over, time to go back to work

I now find myself at a time in my life which is both exciting and a little bit scary. After a period of almost three years as a full-time stay-at-home carer, I’m aiming to return to full-time work. Which leaves only one tiny little problem – who will employ me?

It has been suggested by the lovely people who work for the Department of Work and Pensions, that I am now completely unemployable, having been away from the marketplace for three years. They have suggested that I lie back and contemplate the notion of drawing benefits until the day I die, but would I mind not costing the country too much money by dying reasonably quickly please. My response might have implied that I have at least some Anglo-Saxon origins and more than a passing interest in a game of soldiers.

They have further suggested that no employer would be brave enough to employ me, that no-one would bother looking twice at me when they can get the same experience from a younger and more recently experienced job-seeker. Are they right?

I’ve no idea how this will play out and in all honesty, I’ve no idea really how best to go about it. So if you have any tips on how to return to work after such a long gap, I’d be delighted to hear them.

Certainly my early careers are no longer an option. But I do have a wealth of software testing and information management and data analysis experience under my belt.

I am also literate, being able to read and write and spell and use grammar and punctuation and effrything almost flawlessly. I even understand an apostrophe’s role in life. I can also drive reasonably safely and being the age that I am, I can drive minibuses and seven and a half tonne trucks on my ordinary licence.

In short I am open to suggestions. I am not going to limit my searching to one particular field or industry.

Serious enquiries from potential employers are welcome as are suggestions of things which I can do to increase both my chances and my visibility.

And if you found your way to this blog as the result of a tweet, please feel free to RT it – I need all the help I can get and you will be rewarded with gratitude, squidgy cuddles, love and Jelly Babies. *

Watch this space to see how it goes.

* Terms & Conditions apply.
About Words of Little Relevance

Freelance stage manager; software and web tester; Excel and map geek; Tweeter; Blogger and Cake Eater. Often back-stage in and around Oxfordshire and Buckinghamshire where I move scenes, or play with lights or sound.
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

