Early mornings are really rather interesting

I have of late, found myself still being awake through to the early hours of the morning. A mixture of bad sleeping, headaches and way of life have conspired to extend the end of my day until everyone is getting up for work. But I’m beginning to see an advantage.
Instead of spending all of the early hours in front of the telly or hunched over the laptop like some illuminating monk, I’ve taken to making a hot drink and sitting out in the garden, often with the cat, but increasingly (and I admit this dear listener with just a tinge of guilt and betrayal) with one of our neighbour’s cats!

For I’m discovering that that hour between four and five o’clock in the morning is something rather pleasant. It’s rather inspiring. By five o’clock there are the beginnings of human activity (the distant sound of cars and trains and the rare but highly intrusive roar of a motorbike) but before then, it’s perfect peace and tranquillity. The only sounds are the sounds of nature.

So far this morning I’ve been treated to the strange geographical and political disputes between neighbouring families of squirrels. They either come and steal from the bird table or dash about through the trees above me or hide away and squeak to each other and quite possibly, to me. Obviously I’ve no idea what they’re saying, but as they hang onto the tip of the top-most branches, I like to think that they’re teasing me with a little “I bet you wish you could do this, and look, I didn’t even drop my nuts”.

Of birds I’m not at all versed in their genus, but I know a robin from a crow and we seem to have both. And one particularly large tree seems to be the local wood-pigeon swingers club where all the best shagging takes place. It’s a noisy ‘affair’ with plenty of branch swaying and leaf disruption. Clearly ‘spooning’ has yet to reach wood-pigeon society.

And how bizarre that even on mornings like today, when I’m feeling quite considerably unwell, I somehow manage to sit out here for an hour or so and soon feel inspired to write? To write rubbish as usual obviously, but to write and be a little creative nonetheless.

I’m seriously thinking of having a very early morning jaunt onto Wimbledon Common one day soon, quite possibly with laptop (running Google Notebook) to record my encounters and to share the joys of the dawn chorus … well Twitter would be the ideal tool I guess.

Have a good day.

About Words of Little Relevance

Freelance stage manager; software and web tester; Excel and map geek; Tweeter; Blogger and Cake Eater. Often back-stage in and around Oxfordshire and Buckinghamshire where I move scenes, or play with lights or sound.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

