£1.39 – for a life – isn’t very much

Now, I must put my cards on the table right away. I am not a vegetarian. I don’t eat a lot of meat, but I am quite partial to the odd steak pie. Even though I don’t really drink, a good steak and ale pie has been known to disappear rather quickly from my dinner plate, or indeed anyone else’s who has the misfortune to try and eat one in front of me.

So I do sometimes eat meat. But I also have a love and respect of animals. I’m especially fond of dogs and cats and have owned and loved a few over the years.

So, I was a little surprised at my rather bizarre feeling earlier this evening, when I was shopping in Tesco’s. It was a large store and I was taking my time, strolling around and making all sorts of useful purchases.

And then it happened that I passed the big in-store rotating chicken cooker thingy. You know the thing that looks like it was invented by the Romans as a most efficient method of dispatching several seditious peasants in one go.

Run three through at once with a long skewer, then mount several skewers on a large rotating rack and cook slowly until ‘done’.

I noticed that by the side of this monstrous machine of slow torture, was evidence of some sort of Valerie Singleton homage, in that they had several that “had been prepared earlier”.

roast-chicken

And there lay the problem. They lay there, cooked through, unwanted and therefore “Reduced”.

I picked up a skewered, cooked and bagged chicken for all of £1.39.

Not much for a life. So ok, it was only the life of a chicken, but I was surprised at how sad I felt. That’s all the life of that bird was worth, £1.39

I promised myself that I’d enjoy it and relish it and be grateful for it.

Am I going mad or senile or soft?

About Words of Little Relevance

Freelance stage manager; software and web tester; Excel and map geek; Tweeter; Blogger and Cake Eater. Often back-stage in and around Oxfordshire and Buckinghamshire where I move scenes, or play with lights or sound.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

