My X-Factor experiment

Leona_LewisThis year I decided to conduct a little experiment with X-Factor.
Usually the winners of these type of contests disappear within a short time, never to be heard of again. There are a few exceptions of course, LeMar (?sp) (who of course, didn’t even win), Gareth Gates and to a lesser degree, Alex Parks, who has quietly gone about producing albums and touring.

But usually the fans of these winners are the people who have followed their progress and voted for them. And although huge, it’s still a limited audience. To make it big, you have to appeal to people who’ve never heard of you before.

And so to the experiment. I decided to avoid X-Factor this year. I didn’t watch a single programme. After the final on Saturday, I couldn’t even tell you the name of one single contestant (actually that’s not quite true because a couple of friends auditioned and got through to the next round, but alas made it no further).

I wanted to see what I thought of the winner’s single. Would the final product, the first single from the winner, appeal to me, someone who knew nothing of the contest and who had no knowledge of the contestants?

And so this morning I downloaded “A moment like this” sung by Leona Lewis. I know Kelly Clarkson sang it a couple of years ago, but I didn’t really remember it. And I have to say I really liked it. Her voice is a little deep for my personal tastes, but she can clearly sing a bit (and I should know, I went out with a singer / songwriter for a few years before she became really famous).

So my highly scientific survey of the huge sample of er .. 1, has decided that she will become a huge success.

There, that should nicely bugger up any hope she has.

About Words of Little Relevance

Freelance stage manager; software and web tester; Excel and map geek; Tweeter; Blogger and Cake Eater. Often back-stage in and around Oxfordshire and Buckinghamshire where I move scenes, or play with lights or sound.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

